[Review] Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer

Okay, a concealer review today!

Image

I read a lot of good reviews about this concealer online and decided to give it a try, since I was looking for a new concealer anyways. I got this in #1 Light Beige. I got this for $10 plus tax, which is a pretty good price for concealer.

The first thing I noticed about it was the packaging. In typical Etude House style, it was cute. The writing and everything was pretty, but I couldn’t help but wonder if it would fade with time. That would suck, but, if it was a good product, I decided that I wouldn’t mind.

The wand was what got me really curious about this product, actually. It has a ball on the end, which I thought was pretty cool. It was pretty easy to apply, and not very heavy. This isn’t my favourite kind of applicator, though. I think I prefer doe foot applicators more. On the bright side, it was pretty precise.

The actual concealer itself was not at all what I thought it would be like.

I had heard a lot of people raving about this product so, to be honest, I was pretty excited to try it out. It blended smoothly and everything but it didn’t really help. The formula isn’t very pigmented, so it didn’t really do anything for me. Moreover, the shade wasn’t really right for me, and I had found the other shade a tad too dark. It’s a shame there’s only two shades.

The biggest surprise, though, was how quickly this lasted. For me, a little over an hour later, it was pretty much as if I hadn’t put it on in the first place. Which was, of course, very disappointing for me.

Pros:

  • Cute packaging
  • Precis applicator
  • Easy to apply
  • Light
  • Cheap
  • Good price

Cons:

  • Formula isn’t very pigmented
  • Only two shades to choose from
  • Fades quickly

Overall rating: 4/10

Would I repurchase this? No.

I’m honestly really disappointed about this concealer. Sure, there are good things about it, but it lacks in important things such as pigmentation and lasting time. I mean, why buy concealer if it doesn’t conceal very well? Maybe the stick version is better, but, after this experience, I’m afraid I won’t be trying anymore of Etude House’s Surprise Concealers. Maybe they’ll come out with something better, but, even then, I’ll be reluctant to try it. Well, I guess my search for a good concealer continues!

Leave a Reply

