[Review] Sally Hansen Smooth and Perfect Color Care

So…as you know from my L’Oreal nail polish review, I’ve been on the prowl for natural looking pink polishes. I actually got this particular polish before the Sally Hansen one, but it was a pearly kind of polish, and I wanted a natural, not sparkly pink, so I got the L’Oreal one. The one I got is called “Linen”.

Image

On the Sally Hansen website, it claims that this “breakthrough nail color hides ridges and imperfections with a breathable porcelain-smooth finish”.

Okay, well…that sounds great, but, as I’m sure many of you are wondering, is it really true?

Image

Let’s talk about the brush first. I love the brush for this. It’s wider and flatter than a lot of my other brushes, as you can see above, and applies like a dream. It’s super easy to use and applies the polish amazingly well.

The actual formula itself is a little runny, but not so much that it really bothers me. It goes on a little streaky at first, but quickly evens itself out. The colour is sheer, and really pretty. It looks pretty natural, and gives your nails a pretty, healthy shine. It takes quite a few coats for this to be opaque, but I love how sheer it is. Other people may not, though. The drying time is decent…actually faster than most polishes I use, but that’s most likely because, since I want it to be sheer, I only apply thin coats.

The colour itself is actually beautiful. It’s not exactly a natural pink like the L’Oreal one, but more like a white with a pink undertone. Think of it like a slightly pink pearl…that’s the kind of colour it makes your nails look. The average wear time I get with this polish is almost two weeks before it chips, which is great for someone like me who is always too lazy to apply or remove polish.

Now…about the claim that it makes. There’s no real way for me to prove whether or not my nails can breathe, but I can say something about the other parts. It certainly does look and feel porcelain-smooth, which is great. It hides the ridges on my nails pretty well, which I love. Every time I wear this polish, I love running my fingers over my nails because they just feel so incredibly smooth. It’s pretty incredible, actually. My mom’s nails, though, have way more ridges than mine, so I thought I would try it on her. It didn’t hide her ridges as well, but, with some top coat, you could barely feel or see them. This polish was great in that aspect. It delivered on its claim pretty well.

Finally, I feel that I should also add that many polishes, after removing, make my nails dry and unhealthy looking. This polish, though, didn’t really do that. Of course, my nails were a bit dry and dull looking, but, after 2 or 3 days, it’s fine. I really liked that about it.

Pros:

  • Great brush and application
  • Sheer, pearlescent colour
  • Good drying time
  • Great wear time
  • Hides ridges on nails well
  • Makes nails look healthy
  • Makes nails look and feel smooth
  • Nails don’t look unhealthy after removal

Cons:

  • Formula is a little runny
  • Takes a few coats for the colour to actually show up/before it’s opaque

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

Though this isn’t my perfect natural pink, it’s still great and one of my favourites. The only thing I didn’t love about this polish was the fact that it doesn’t hide ridges as well as it claims. On me it worked, but my nails are pretty smooth to begin with. With nails that have deep ridges, this polish won’t work that well unless you apply a few more coats or have a really good topcoat. This isn’t a problem for me, but it probably is for people who want to hide deeper ridges on their nails.

2 thoughts on “[Review] Sally Hansen Smooth and Perfect Color Care

  1. I’ll have to be on the look out for that. I usually wear acrylics but I take them off for a couple weeks at a time every few months just to let my nails breathe. When they come off my natural nails are kind of rough and disgusting so this is right up my alley. Thanks for the post!

    -Katie
    smoulderingviolet.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: [Review] Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

