[Review] Joe Fresh Polish

Okay, so…imagine this:

You have the perfect idea for Christmas themed nails, and you’re sure that it’s going to turn out great. You start taking out nail polish to actually do it, and discover that your white polish has been totally used up. It’s less than a week before Christmas, and things are way to hectic to drive out to the mall and line up forever just to buy a bottle of nail polish. That, and you’re already broke from Christmas shopping.

Well, that was what happened to me last year. Luckily for me, there was a Loblaws, open late, and they had a Joe Fresh section. I wasn’t really sure about their polishes, but decided to give them a try. They were pretty cheap, on sale for about $2.99. If you hadn’t guessed already, I got this polish in White.

Joe Fresh Polish (Sorry for the blurry picture…)

Anyways, so…what did I think of this polish?

Let’s start off with the general design of the bottle: As you can see, the bottle is round and thicker than your average bottle. The cap was really wide, making the brush a little harder to work with, but it wasn’t too bad. The brush applied the polish fairly well, so I didn’t have any problems with that part. It’s difficult to read the name of the colour, because the polish was white and the words on the bottom were pretty close to that, and can only really be read in certain lighting, but I knew it was white just by looking at it.

The nail polish itself was, in one word, decent. It was kind of runny, and was streaky when applied, but evened itself out. You need about 2 coats in order for it to be opaque. The drying time was about 5 minutes, when it was dry to the touch. Anytime before that, you WILL leave a fingerprint in your polish. It was about half an hour later before they were perfectly dry, though. I accidentally hit my nail on something about 20 minutes after I put the polish on, and it kind of messed up the tip.

The wearing time was better than I thought it would be. With topcoat, this stayed on for about 2 weeks, with no chips at all. For me, that’s about average. (Maybe it’s my topcoat? I’m not sure.)

Also, before you use it, you have to shake the bottle. You can’t see it well in the picture, but the polish tends to separate after a while.

All in all, there isn’t much to say about this polish. It was decent, and worth what I payed for it, but it wasn’t anything really special for me.

Pros:

  • Worth the price
  • Good pigmentation
  • Good wear time

Cons:

  • Formula is a bit runny
  • Long drying time

Overall Rating: 6/10

Would I repurchase this? No.

For the price I paid, it was okay, but I’m sure there are better polishes out there. Normally, this polish is $4.00, and there are better polishes out there for that price. I think, after this bottle runs out, I’m going to try a different one. I’ve always been a fan of Sally Hansen but, after my positive experience with L’Oreal, I may try that. Then again, I’m not sure how pigmented their polishes are…oh well, I guess we’ll just see how that goes!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

