[Review and Info] Konad Nail Art Products

Okay…so, I’ve been a Konad user for over a year now, and every time I use it, I get both compliments and questions. I also know that there are a lot of questions about these products. I don’t consider myself an expert or anything, but I decided to say a couple things I wish someone would’ve told me when I first used these. This is going to be a little different from my previous beauty-related posts. This is going to be a short review, along with some things that I think prospective users, or maybe even current users, should know about Konad. Or stamping nail art, since there seems to be a lot of non-Konad stamping products out there nowadays. I should probably warn you beforehand that this is going to be a bit longer than my usual posts.

ImageA few of my plates. I just recently used them so they’re a bit dirty…^^;

First, let me explain my experience with these.

My first time using these, it was a nightmare of sorts, as well as a life-changer. It cost quite a bit, so I seriously hoped that I wouldn’t regret the purchase. When I first used it, I hesitated too long and the design dried on the stamper. The second time, I scraped too hard and only half the design came off on the stamper. Finally, I got the design on my nail. Third time’s the charm, I guess…kind of. The design looked great…but it was totally crooked and part of the design got onto my skin.

With practice, it became easier, and Konad has been my go-to product whenever I need pretty looking nails in a short amount of time. Sure, these can be costly, especially when you want a lot of plates or different polishes, There’s a solution to this, though. Well, one that won’t break the bank. As much.

Let me explain a few things first:

1) How should you stamp the designs on?

Well, I tried it like they show in those videos, and that didn’t work out very well. Scrape at an angel, like they tell you, but I wouldn’t recommend using the stamper they give you. It scratches the plate. I use an old gift card, but any kind of old credit work just as well. They also sell plastic scrapers, but I didn’t want to buy another one. I discovered that it’s best to stamp it with your fingers pointing towards you. Line up the centre of the design to the centre of your nail, and then press down, rolling the stamper back and forth on your nail.

2) What kinds of polishes can you use?

You don’t need to use Konad polishes to stamp designs. I’ve found that other polishes can work just as well. The best black and white non-Konad that I’ve used so far has been the Wet N’ Wild ones. Ardene polishes work pretty well, too. Seriously, I can barely tell the difference. Light colours and glitters don’t show up very well, but, as a general rule, if it’s a pigmented colour (The kind that you only need to use one coat of), then it’ll probably work. The best way to determine what works, though time consuming, is sitting down and testing all your polishes. Okay, maybe not all, but any that you think would work or WANT to work.

ImageAs you can see, the Wet N’ Wild white polish works just as great as a Konad polish.

3) What happens when I mess up my design?

Okay…so…that sucks. At first, I always ended up just re-doing the entire nail, but that can get painful. What I do now is paint my nails and do whatever manual designs I want to do first. Konad always come last. Before I stamp, I put a top coat on everything and let that dry before continuing with Konad. That way, if I mess up, I can use a cotton swab with a bit of nail polish remover and clean it without messing up what’s underneath.

4) Applying top coat smears my design.

Okay, I’m not sure if this happens to everyone, but it happened to me. What I do may not the most desirable way to prevent this, but, hey…whatever works, right? Basically, I load my brush with tons of top coat and apply that as quickly as I can over the design. This means applying a really thick coat of topcoat, but my design doesn’t smear that way. That, or you can just wait a while before applying any top coat. I find about a litt over half an hour works for me, but…I can’t be that patient with my nails XD

5) Buying the actual products…

I bought my products from an actual Konad booth. Translation: It cost me an arm and a leg. I wanted to buy more plates and polish, but they were way to expensive. I fixed the polish problem by using other polishes. The plates problem is harder to fix. Luckily, I discovered a website called BornPrettyStore. Honestly, this is the best thing that has ever happened to me. In terms of nail products, that is. I’ll talk more about this some other time, but, long story short: They sell plates for 0.99. Seriously, that’s all I need to say…also, they work fine, in case any skeptics are wondering. You can actually get the polishes from there, as well. As I said before, I’ve started seeing more and more non-Konad nail stamping products for less, so you can always get those, too, if you don’t want to order online. Some places include Shoppers Drug Mart and Claire’s.

So…that’s been my experience with Konad. I hope that I will have helped someone…so they don’t make the same mistakes that I made. In terms of life-changing…I’ve discovered that I can do so many designs with these, and, once you get the hang of it, they’re easy and even fun to use. That’s basically it. I might be a bit late with, this, but, remember, I just started this blog. I’m surprised I’ve written it so early in the game, actually.

Anyways, nail stamping art is a definite must for any of you nail art lovers, or those who want pretty, complicated looking designs without actually having to do much. Or people like me, who love doing nail art, but don’t have the time or patience to do a complicated design by hand all the time.

5 thoughts on “[Review and Info] Konad Nail Art Products

  1. Sally Hansen insta dry works pretty good too, (actually most Sally Hansen polishes work well) check out bundlemonster.com they have 4 sets of plates I have never had a problem with them. I originally started nail stamping because my daughter wanted stickers (but they are a pain to get off) now I have several sets and a few Konad plates. Also check eBay for “fauxnad” unbranded plates.

    • Yeah, I’ve discovered a lot of Sally Hansen polishes work well. I’ve heard of bundlemonster, and have been curious about it. Nice to know that they work well šŸ™‚ I actually get a lot of people asking me whether the designs are stickers, which always surprises me.

  2. Pingback: Curvy and Curly Stamped Nail Art in Gold | The Nail Art and Beauty Diaries

Leave a Reply

