[Review] Revlon Brilliant Strength Nail Enamel

Another review~Since my last couple of reviews had been of lip products, I decided to review another product that I use quite often: Nail polish.

Today, I will be reviewing Revlon’s Brilliant Strength Nail Enamel in “060 Allure”. I got it because I wanted a natural, pretty looking pink. This was on sale, plus I had a coupon for a dollar off, so I ended up buying it. I didn’t notice it was sheer until I opened it, but that was okay. It’s difficult to see in the picture, and in store lighting, apparently, but it’s definitely sheer.

Image

The brush was okay. Not great, but did its job fairly well. It was easy to hold and didn’t present any kind of problem with me.

Revlon Polish in Allure

I thought that the colour would come out a pretty pink that I could just wear whenever. I never really got to find out. Why? Well, let me explain what happened when I first put this polish on.

It was streaky and kind of goopy (Not sure if you can see that in the picture, but it’s a bit runny compared to some of my other polishes), which is a total pet peeve of mine, but I thought that it would even itself out after a while. It never did, not even after drying. I decided to try putting on a thinner coat, and then a thicker coat, but that didn’t work, either. It looked better after about 3 coats, but that wasn’t what I had wanted. I just wanted a nice polish that wasn’t too dark. One that I could just put one sheer coat of on. This definitely didn’t do that for me. The colour was pretty, though. I’ll give it that, but it wasn’t what I expected.

Also, the dry time. This took longer to dry than I expected. It took almost five minutes before my first coat was dry! I tried putting on a thin coat, but even that took a few minutes to dry. And, like I said before, the polish didn’t even itself out on my nails, either.

I had, unfortunately, lost the receipt, so I couldn’t return it. I was disappointed, but I got it for a good price, so I didn’t think it was a big deal. I just won’t be trying Revlon polishes again. I think I’ll stick with my Sally Hansen for now.

Pros:

  • Pretty colour (Same as in the bottle)
  • Easy to use brush

Cons:

  • Streaky and goopy
  • Doesn’t even out
  • Have to put on three coats before it looks even

Overall Rating: 3/10

Would I repurchase? No.

Unfortunately, this polish just didn’t do it for me. I continued hunting for the perfect, natural pink polish. I did in fact end up finding one, but let’s save that for another review, shall we?

Anyways, a pretty short review compared to my previous ones, but I didn’t have much to say about this polish. It’s too bad the polish has to go to waste, though. Perhaps someone I know will want it? It would be nice, if you put on three coats of it, I guess. I simply can’t get over the streaky, goopy formula, though.

Edit: Thank God for auto-save. My browser shut down on me right as I was putting in the second picture, and you can’t even imagine my shock and panic. Fortunately, I remember that WordPress automatically saves your drafts before I totally rewrote this review. *Sigh of relief*

One thought on “[Review] Revlon Brilliant Strength Nail Enamel

  1. Pingback: [Review] L’Oreal Colour Riche Nail Color | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

