[Review] Maybelline Baby Lips

ANOTHER lip product review. As you can see, I enjoy trying out different balms and glosses. I’m still looking for that perfect one, so…who knows how long I’ll be trying?

baby Lips in Pink Punch
 (Sorry for the weird lighting…)

This time, I’ll be reviewing another well-known product that people have been telling me about: Maybelline New York’s Baby Lips lipbalm. I got mine in Pink Punch. On the Maybelline site, they say this about the lipbalm:

“No more basic lipbalm. Our exclusive formula moisturizes lips for a full 8 hours. Lips renewed in one week.”

The fact that this balm apparently was moisturizing, had SPF and was tinted was what got me to buy it. That and the fact that it was one sale for $3.99. Originally, it’s $6.99, which I thought was a bit pricey for this product. Let me explain why.

“No more basic lipbalm.” Well, this part was pretty true. The hint of colour was nice. Not too strong and subtle enough to wear everyday. The lipbalm smelled and tasted nice, but it was an artificial kind of sweetness. It glided on fairly nicely, and the colour definitely looked nice on my lips. My lips were a little dry, though, so it left a few tiny chunks of bright pink on them. Nothing a little bit of blotting couldn’t fix, though. My lips looked more moisturized, but the balm itself felt like a separate, kind of uncomfortable layer on my lips. I didn’t really like it. The colour is buildable, but, after a certain point, it starts looking weird on me. Even more, this looks best with another lipbalm underneath, because it doesn’t leave chunks. I didn’t buy one lipbalm so I could use it over another, you know.

Baby Lips

The tube design was nice. The cap was easy to get off, and covered the product well. The balm itself was easy to twist up and it came with a nice amount of product. I also liked the fact that the colour you saw was essentially the colour you got. Not as pigmented, of course, but that was something I liked about it.

All pretty good so far, right? Well..after a few problems, that’s when I noticed that my opinion of it had changed.

“Our exclusive formula moisturizes lips for a full 8 hours.” That was definitely not the case for me. After about an hour, my lips started feeling dry. Actually, after a little while more, the skin on my lips was not only cracking, but also starting to peel at the inside edges. Definitely not good. The weird part, though, was that when I looked in the mirror, my lips looked nice and still pretty moisturized. Even though it felt dry as the Sahara Desert.

Another thing I discovered about this balm after a while was that, the more often I applied it, the drier my lips seemed to get after. Even stranger, they always looked fine.

The staying power, though, was better than I expected. The colour was visible for hours. Seriously, seven hours later, though my lips felt dry, I could still detect a hint of colour on my lips. I even drank water and ate lunch during this time. Crazy, but true. That’s really good for…well, any lip product, really.

“Lips renewed in one week.” Also not true, at least not for me. Sure, they looked nice with the balm on, but they felt really dry by the end of each day. After a week or so, I started using my EOS lipbalm at night so my lips were soft in the morning, and hoped to improve the whole dry lips thing, but they were still dry by the end of the day.

I used it for over a month, hoping things would change, but they didn’t. That disappointed me quite a bit, especially since I expected more from this product, with the things I’ve heard about it.

Pros:

  • Nice, wearable, buildable colour
  • Not as pigmented as it looks (Could be a con for some, but this was a pro for me, as I don’t generally wear really pigmented products daily)
  • Good tube design
  • Glides on nicely
  • Made my lips look softer
  • Sweet scent and taste
  • Good staying power
  • Nice amount of product

Cons:

  • Pricey for the quality of product (I’m sure there are better products out there for the same price, or even less)
  • Sometimes leaves chunks on lips
  • Doesn’t deliver on the promise of 8 hour moisture (Doesn’t really moisturize, actually)
  • Can make lips feel drier after use
  • Doesn’t improve condition of your lips, can actually make it worse

Overall Rating: 5/10

Would I repurchase this? Unfortunately, no. I really wanted to love this product, I did. The hint of colour was perfect for me, but not worth the drying effects. I will be using up the rest of the tube, as it would be a shame to waste it when so much is left, but only with lipbalm underneath, but I won’t be buying it again after that.

As much as I want to love this, I can’t bring myself to do it. Having my lips look nice is not worth having them cracked and insanely dried out. Shame, though…the colour was really nice. I guess I’ll just continue experimenting with different products. I’m sure the one for me is out there somewhere, I just have to find it 🙂

One last thing: A lot of reviews say that this product has been amazing for them, and, though it didn’t work well for me, the experience probably differs from person to person. Actually, I’ve heard that the new Electro ones have more moisturizing ingredients in them. If that goes on sale, maybe I’ll give this brand another shot. If you’re curious about these, though, why not go out and try one for yourself? Who knows, it could end up your HG lipbalm!

One thought on “[Review] Maybelline Baby Lips

Leave a Reply

